Sign up to our newsletter

Reviews

Book Review

Ivy Pocket is a 12-year-old maid of no importance. She is the girl that everyone seeks to avoid yet she finds herself mixed up in a most unlikely adventure.

More

Book Review

The Wild Beyond is the suspenseful finale to "The Last Wild", Piers Torday’s fantasy trilogy for younger readers.

More

Book Review

Hamish Ellerby lives with his mum and older brother in Starkley, the UK’s fourth most boring town. Or is it? Soon things are about to get interested – and dangerous.

More

Book Review

When a mysterious shop made of sparkling black stone appears nestled among the original shops on a Glasgow street people are curious.

More

Book Review

Witch Wars is a hybrid of The Hunger Games, The Worst Witch and Teen Vogue. The first in a commercial new series aimed at girls aged seven and over from fashion journalist and debut author Sibéal Pounder, it gives witches a seriously glitzy make-over.

More

Book Review

Tom Avery’s previous novel My Brother’s Shadow is currently on the Carnegie longlist and his latest novel Not as We Know It does nothing but affirm this author’s prowess. 

More

Book Review

This is the story of Mark and his quest to fulfil his late grandfather’s wishes of climbing Mount Ranier (the highest mountain in the Pacific Northwest) with his fiercely loyal dog by his side. Mark is not just an average kid though. Mark is sick.

More

Book Review

The Dreamsnatcher is a wonderfully magical debut for the 10 to 13 age group which will appeal to fans of Philip Pullman and Michelle Harrison. It features a young girl, a tenacious wildcat and a beautiful woodland setting.

More

Pages