Sign up to our newsletter

Reviews

Book Review

The Dreamsnatcher is a wonderfully magical debut for the 10 to 13 age group which will appeal to fans of Philip Pullman and Michelle Harrison. It features a young girl, a tenacious wildcat and a beautiful woodland setting.

More

Book Review

In Red Queen Victoria Aveyard has delivered a clever, slick and compelling debut. The dystopian novel will please fans of The Hunger Games but uses a supernatural twist to explore the theme of social injustice.  In Red Queen your blood status - whether you are Silver or Red - determines your social positioning.

More

Book Review
Cameron and his mum have been on the run for years, fleeing an abusive father and husband who just won’t let them go.

More

Book Review
From school bullies to family arguments, Lara's life is full of problems. With friends who abandoned her and the new financial strain her family are under, Lara suddenly feels very alone. When out of nowhere the boy, or should we say man, of her dreams steps into her life.

More

Book Review
A topical look at bullying and contemporary teen issues in a gripping debut novel. Jess is having a hard time at home since her dad left, but school should be a safe haven from the misery of poverty and a tough family life.

More

Book Review
Grace is an embassy child and an army brat. She has travelled the world but the nearest she has to a home is the US Embassy in Adria.

More

Book Review
Every good story starts with some kind of movement. In Liam’s case it’s moving house to his grandma’s old place, far away from all of his friends but just down the road from a broken down, potentially haunted, old church.

More

Book Review
From the author who gave us The Spiderwick Chronicles and last year’s vampire remake The Coldest Girl in Coldtown comes another epic fantasy adventure in which Holly Black continues to reimagine the fairy tale genre.  Hazel and Ben Evans have gr

More

Book Review
For years now, Twylla has not touched another human being, but not by choice. As Daunan Embodied, Twylla lives in the royal castle as both a symbol of hope and the Queen's executioner.

More

Book Review
Captive is a novel about the abduction of the Prime Minister's daughter by suspected terrorists. Said daughter is Robyn Knollys-Green, society girl and celebrity who is normally constantly hounded by the press, but now no-one is following her and even she doesn't know where she is.

More

Book Review
Isn’t it every child’s dream to have an amazing treehouse? Well, once they settle down with this book every other treehouse will dissolve into insignificance. Welcome to the wacky world of Terry and Andy who live in a 13-storey treehouse.

More

Book Review
Another deeply moving story from the author of critically acclaimed YA novel If I Stay. Growing up, Cody and Meg were inseparable.

More

Pages