Sign up to our newsletter

Reviews

Book Review

Hamish Ellerby lives with his mum and older brother in Starkley, the UK’s fourth most boring town. Or is it? Soon things are about to get interested – and dangerous.

More

Book Review

When a mysterious shop made of sparkling black stone appears nestled among the original shops on a Glasgow street people are curious.

More

Book Review

Witch Wars is a hybrid of The Hunger Games, The Worst Witch and Teen Vogue. The first in a commercial new series aimed at girls aged seven and over from fashion journalist and debut author Sibéal Pounder, it gives witches a seriously glitzy make-over.

More

Book Review

Tom Avery’s previous novel My Brother’s Shadow is currently on the Carnegie longlist and his latest novel Not as We Know It does nothing but affirm this author’s prowess. 

More

Book Review

This is the story of Mark and his quest to fulfil his late grandfather’s wishes of climbing Mount Ranier (the highest mountain in the Pacific Northwest) with his fiercely loyal dog by his side. Mark is not just an average kid though. Mark is sick.

More

Book Review

The Dreamsnatcher is a wonderfully magical debut for the 10 to 13 age group which will appeal to fans of Philip Pullman and Michelle Harrison. It features a young girl, a tenacious wildcat and a beautiful woodland setting.

More

Book Review

In Red Queen Victoria Aveyard has delivered a clever, slick and compelling debut. The dystopian novel will please fans of The Hunger Games but uses a supernatural twist to explore the theme of social injustice.  In Red Queen your blood status - whether you are Silver or Red - determines your social positioning.

More

Book Review
Cameron and his mum have been on the run for years, fleeing an abusive father and husband who just won’t let them go.

More

Book Review
From school bullies to family arguments, Lara's life is full of problems. With friends who abandoned her and the new financial strain her family are under, Lara suddenly feels very alone. When out of nowhere the boy, or should we say man, of her dreams steps into her life.

More

Book Review
A topical look at bullying and contemporary teen issues in a gripping debut novel. Jess is having a hard time at home since her dad left, but school should be a safe haven from the misery of poverty and a tough family life.

More

Book Review
Grace is an embassy child and an army brat. She has travelled the world but the nearest she has to a home is the US Embassy in Adria.

More

Book Review
Every good story starts with some kind of movement. In Liam’s case it’s moving house to his grandma’s old place, far away from all of his friends but just down the road from a broken down, potentially haunted, old church.

More

Pages