Reviews

Book Review
When Simon's little sister Anna starts annoying him by being noisy, unruly and breaking his music player as well he wishes her away by chanting an old nursery rhyme from a story book called In the Land of the Broken King.

More

Book Review
Fans of David Walliams and Dodie Smith will like this book about a small boy who finds a cat that is put together all wrong.

More

Book Review
In an alternate ancient world, Kestrel has a difficult choice. The daughter of an important general in a power-hungry race that feeds on destruction and enslavement, she must decide between the life of a soldier (her father's preferred route) or marriage by the time she is twenty.

More

Book Review

War Girls is a wonderful collection of short stories that vividly brings to life the reality of the First World War for young women at the time.

More

Book Review

Everything in Indigo Blackwood's life is sweet. Totally popular. Place on the cheerleading squad. Captain of the football team boyfriend. Yes, there's the small matter of her best friend actually being a truly horrible person but, you know, all things considered, life is pretty good.

More

Book Review

The motif of a magical pen or pencil creating a magical world is not unfamiliar in the world of children’s literature, as used by Crockett Johnson’s 1955 story Harold’s Purple Crayon and, more recently, by Drew Daywalt’s picture book The Day the Crayons Quit.

More

Book Review

Tanya has been able to see fairies all of her life and with this comes two problems. The first: her parents can't see them and so she must make up stories to explain the strange, magical things that happen to her. The second: it turns out fairies aren't so nice.

More

Book Review

Since the age of six, Charley has been plagued by flashes – disturbing images of deaths and confusing visions she finds impossible to piece together.

More

Book Review

It’s not easy being Chief Detective of Spook Detective Agency, as Araminta Spook well knows. Sometimes, mysteries are incredibly hard to come by and then, just like buses, several come along all at once. And so it is for Araminta in the sixth instalment of this quirky adventure-packed series.

More

Pages