Sign up to our newsletter

Reviews

Book Review

The Wheel of Life and Death is the third book in the "Mysterium" trilogy, and the previous two books need to have been read to make sense of the finale. Danny Wo, an orphaned 12-year-old boy, is trying to discover who murdered his parents and what secrets his father had been hiding.

More

Book Review

Dax Daley thinks he is just an average sarcastic, unenthusiastic, moody schoolboy destined to live at home with his irritating parents forever but he hadn't counted on testing positive for a new gene. He's suddenly whisked away to the mysterious Scragmoor Prime school with 40 other children.

More

Book Review
After Barraclough’s genuinely chilling debut Long Lankin, the idea of a sequel sounded unnecessary, but reading The Mark of Cain it becomes clear why the author couldn’t resist returning to this setting and these characters.

More

Book Review
Pushkin Press are dedicated to publishing the best stories from around the world and we are to be thankful that they have translated such a gem as The Cat Who Came in Off the Roof, translated from the Dutch by David Colmer. Filled with a timeless charm, even dog lovers will find t

More

Book Review
When staff at the British Museum mend an artefact in the Ancient Egyptian gallery they unwittingly unleash a dark force which stops time, freezing all of the people in London in their tracks - all of the people except Will and his sister Jo.

More

Book Review
When Simon's little sister Anna starts annoying him by being noisy, unruly and breaking his music player as well he wishes her away by chanting an old nursery rhyme from a story book called In the Land of the Broken King.

More

Book Review
Fans of David Walliams and Dodie Smith will like this book about a small boy who finds a cat that is put together all wrong.

More

Book Review
In an alternate ancient world, Kestrel has a difficult choice. The daughter of an important general in a power-hungry race that feeds on destruction and enslavement, she must decide between the life of a soldier (her father's preferred route) or marriage by the time she is twenty.

More

Book Review

War Girls is a wonderful collection of short stories that vividly brings to life the reality of the First World War for young women at the time.

More

Book Review

Everything in Indigo Blackwood's life is sweet. Totally popular. Place on the cheerleading squad. Captain of the football team boyfriend. Yes, there's the small matter of her best friend actually being a truly horrible person but, you know, all things considered, life is pretty good.

More

Pages