Reviews

Book Review

The Dreamsnatcher is a wonderfully magical debut for the 10 to 13 age group which will appeal to fans of Philip Pullman and Michelle Harrison. It features a young girl, a tenacious wildcat and a beautiful woodland setting.

More

Book Review

In a world where powerful, statuesque near-immortals overpowered and enslaved mankind, there is unrest. After an uprising 25 years ago ended in bloodshed and ruin most of the human race accepted their fate and lost all hope of ever being free again.

More

Book Review

The Fire Sermon is set 400 years in the future, after the Earth has been scorched by a nuclear explosion, and the radiation fallout has ended. The destruction has left everyone being born with a twin.

More

Book Review
This is a thoroughly enjoyable fantasy set in a post-apocalyptic universe where the books of J.K. Rowling exist but otherwise we appear to be in "Game of Thrones" territory. In the Tearling land, queens come of age at 19 and the monarch is always a queen.

More

Book Review

Writers of science fiction don't seem a very optimistic bunch and Jon Wallace is no exception. Post-apocalyptic Britain - "the last hope for the world" - is split between real people who live mostly in the countryside and artificial people who have barricaded themselves in the cities.

More

Book Review

The off-kilter elements of this book begin on the back cover: “I’m a liar and a cheat and a coward, but I will never, ever let a friend down.

More

Book Review

In a world of gods, ice folk and dwarves, Joanne Harris chooses as her hero the trickster god Loki, bent upon making mischief throughout the Nine Worlds of Norse mythology.

More

Pages