Sign up to our newsletter

Reviews

Book Review

There is something spectacularly cinematic about Wake of Vultures, a gripping fantasy epic set in the cruel plains of the Wild West. With the violence of "Django Unchained" and a tough feminist heart at its centre, this is a book for cowboys and feminists alike. 

More

Book Review

Zeroes is a YA book with a real difference. This is the opening instalment of a thrilling new series about five ordinary teens with extraordinary stories and a collaboration of bestselling author Scott Westerfeld, Margo Lanagan and Deborah Biancotti.

More

Book Review

Dea and her Mom have lived an erratic life moving from place to place, a new school every year, only one step ahead of their debts.

More

Book Review

Horatio Clare has written several lyrical and highly enjoyable travel books but this is his first foray into children’s literature and the result is an imaginative and thoughtful adventure.

More

Book Review

Quintessentially English teenager Taylor Montclair and moody French teenager Sacha Winter are destined to meet. Their lives are interlinked through a centuries old curse that kills its young victims on the day of their 18th birthday and not before.

More

Book Review

Malaysian born and London based author Zen Cho’s first novel is a must for fans of Susanna Clarke and Jane Austen blending as it does elements of regency romance and urban fantasy. Zacharias Wythe was freed from slavery, adopted by Sir Stephen Wythe and raised as a gentleman magician.

More

Book Review

Murderers are stalking the dirty streets of 17th century London. Christopher Rowe, an apothecary’s apprentice, is plunged into a deadly treasure hunt, following a trail of clues left to him by his master Benedict Blackthorn.

More

Book Review

Demon Road is the story of Amber, an American teenage girl who finds out that she is a demon. As are her parents. In fact, her parents entered into pact with a shining demon in order to become powerful and immortal.

More

Book Review

The Time of the Clockmaker is a curiously charming tale of a girl lost in time and in great danger. Rebecca Hatfield is the latest in a line of women with the same name who have become immortal through no choice of their own.

More

Book Review

Mikey and his group of close-knit friends are nervously approaching graduation when things start to get weird in their small town. "Indie kids" are disappearing and dying, deer are rising from the dead zombie-style and when did people start to have having glowing blue eyes?

More

Pages