Sign up to our newsletter

Reviews

Book Review

Witch Wars is a hybrid of The Hunger Games, The Worst Witch and Teen Vogue. The first in a commercial new series aimed at girls aged seven and over from fashion journalist and debut author Sibéal Pounder, it gives witches a seriously glitzy make-over.

More

Book Review

Tom Avery’s previous novel My Brother’s Shadow is currently on the Carnegie longlist and his latest novel Not as We Know It does nothing but affirm this author’s prowess. 

More

Book Review

A 200-year old curse, star-crossed lovers and pies are at the heart of this wonderful book by Alice Hoffman.

More

Book Review

For as long as she can remember Luna has been keeping secrets. In a world where people are spending more and more time living their life on a virtual plane, Luna is what is known as a Refuser – one of the few people who do not have an Implant to allow them instant access to virtual worlds.

More

Book Review

A Darker Shade of Magic is that rare fantasy book that will satisfy both existing fantasy fans as well as readers who usually shy away from the genre.

More

Book Review

The Dreamsnatcher is a wonderfully magical debut for the 10 to 13 age group which will appeal to fans of Philip Pullman and Michelle Harrison. It features a young girl, a tenacious wildcat and a beautiful woodland setting.

More

Book Review

In a world where powerful, statuesque near-immortals overpowered and enslaved mankind, there is unrest. After an uprising 25 years ago ended in bloodshed and ruin most of the human race accepted their fate and lost all hope of ever being free again.

More

Book Review

The Fire Sermon is set 400 years in the future, after the Earth has been scorched by a nuclear explosion, and the radiation fallout has ended. The destruction has left everyone being born with a twin.

More

Book Review
This is a thoroughly enjoyable fantasy set in a post-apocalyptic universe where the books of J.K. Rowling exist but otherwise we appear to be in "Game of Thrones" territory. In the Tearling land, queens come of age at 19 and the monarch is always a queen.

More

Book Review

Writers of science fiction don't seem a very optimistic bunch and Jon Wallace is no exception. Post-apocalyptic Britain - "the last hope for the world" - is split between real people who live mostly in the countryside and artificial people who have barricaded themselves in the cities.

More

Pages