Love is in the air at RNA awards

Shopaholic author wins outstanding achievement gong at the awards night for romantic writing

Sophie Kinsella has been awarded the outstanding achievement award at this year’s Romantic Novelists’ Association Romantic Novel of the Year awards.

At the event, hosted by Judy Finnigan and Richard Madeley last night, the author of the Shopaholic series was presented with the award for “her continued contribution to the world of romantic fiction”.

The Contemporary Romantic Novel award went to Katie Fforde for a second year, this time for her novel Recipe for Love after Summer of Love scooped the prize last year.

Rowan Coleman won in the Epic category for Dearest Rose, while the Historical category prize went to Charlotte Betts’ The Apothecary’s Daughter.

The Romantic Comedy prize-winner was Jenny Colgan’s Welcome to Rosie Hopkin’s Sweetshop of Dreams while the Young Adult winner was Victoria Lamb’s Witchstruck.

All five category-winners will go forward for the RNA Romantic Novel of the Year, to be revealed at the RNA summer party on 16th May.

Enter our competition to be in with a change of winning every book from one of the five shortlists.