Sign up to our newsletter

Reviews

Book Review

Olivia's been looking forward to her 17th birthday party for ages. She's managed to get her parents to stay out, told her little sister Alice to keep out of the way and has her best friends Nicola and Ben and boyfriend Jonty by her side. All is going well.

More

Book Review

Scriptwriter and novelist Deborah Moggach's latest work examines loneliness and the secrets which exist between individuals. Lies and betrayal occur even between best friends and lovers, or perhaps as Moggach shows, especially between best friends and lovers.

More

Book Review

The Flower Arrangement is another feel-good novel for fans of Marion Keyes and Maeve Binchy. The story is lovely; well plotted and peopled with endearing characters who are not saccharine stereotypes but who engage the reader fully, who deal with real, albeit unusual,

More

Book Review

"Get rich. Get laid. Get even" shouts the tag-line on the cover of Michelle Miller’s The Underwriting, summing up neatly the desires in play in her novel.

More

Book Review

This is a paradoxical kind of a novel about everything and yet nothing as it follows the final year in the life of 90-year-old Marvellous Ways and just a few of the lives she influenced along her journey.

More

Book Review

In recent years we've seen a wealth of Swedish fiction hitting the bookshelves, gritty crime thrillers, dark conspiracies, but Katarina Bivald's The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend shines a completely new light on scandi-lit in an utterly charming, purely delightful tale of books, frie

More

Book Review

The Silent Hours is set in wartime and post-war France, and is told from several different perspectives.

More

Book Review

Non Pratt's debut, Trouble, was one of my favourite YA titles of 2014 so I was incredibly excited to get my hands on a copy of her next book, Remix, and I devoured it in one sitting.

More

Book Review

Fate, they say, is a cruel mistress. So cruel in fact that Shakespeare, in his own inimitable way, described it as "fortune’s furious fickle wheel". Is destiny really such a capricious force? Can life, to employ another well-used phrase, really turn on a sixpence?

More

Pages