Sign up to our newsletter

Reviews

Book Review

Moving by Jenny Eclair is a family history unravelled via the selling of a house. As Edwina tours an estate agent around the home she has lived in for 55 years, patchy memories flood back to her in fits and starts.

More

Book Review

Emblazoned on the book’s cover is that fact that it is a New York Times bestseller, and this novel certainly deserves that achievement.

More

Book Review

Born just minutes apart and living next door to each other, Emmy and Oliver were destined to be best friends, and they were for the first seven years of their lives, until Oliver was taken away by his dad.

More

Book Review

Set around a large London communal garden with its mix of houses and apartments and community of residents, it's a place where families feel safe, a haven of safe play for their children. It’s the end of the residents’ annual community garden party, a perfect summer’s day of g

More

Book Review

Some books can be read in a sitting but have a profound effect. Jean-Christophe Rufin, a co-founder of Medicins Sans Frontieres is also a prize-winning novelist.

More

Book Review

Olivia's been looking forward to her 17th birthday party for ages. She's managed to get her parents to stay out, told her little sister Alice to keep out of the way and has her best friends Nicola and Ben and boyfriend Jonty by her side. All is going well.

More

Book Review

Scriptwriter and novelist Deborah Moggach's latest work examines loneliness and the secrets which exist between individuals. Lies and betrayal occur even between best friends and lovers, or perhaps as Moggach shows, especially between best friends and lovers.

More

Book Review

The Flower Arrangement is another feel-good novel for fans of Marion Keyes and Maeve Binchy. The story is lovely; well plotted and peopled with endearing characters who are not saccharine stereotypes but who engage the reader fully, who deal with real, albeit unusual,

More

Book Review

"Get rich. Get laid. Get even" shouts the tag-line on the cover of Michelle Miller’s The Underwriting, summing up neatly the desires in play in her novel.

More

Pages