Sign up to our newsletter

Reviews

Book Review

The Flower Arrangement is another feel-good novel for fans of Marion Keyes and Maeve Binchy. The story is lovely; well plotted and peopled with endearing characters who are not saccharine stereotypes but who engage the reader fully, who deal with real, albeit unusual,

More

Book Review

"Get rich. Get laid. Get even" shouts the tag-line on the cover of Michelle Miller’s The Underwriting, summing up neatly the desires in play in her novel.

More

Book Review

This is a paradoxical kind of a novel about everything and yet nothing as it follows the final year in the life of 90-year-old Marvellous Ways and just a few of the lives she influenced along her journey.

More

Book Review

In recent years we've seen a wealth of Swedish fiction hitting the bookshelves, gritty crime thrillers, dark conspiracies, but Katarina Bivald's The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend shines a completely new light on scandi-lit in an utterly charming, purely delightful tale of books, frie

More

Book Review

The Silent Hours is set in wartime and post-war France, and is told from several different perspectives.

More

Book Review

Non Pratt's debut, Trouble, was one of my favourite YA titles of 2014 so I was incredibly excited to get my hands on a copy of her next book, Remix, and I devoured it in one sitting.

More

Book Review

Fate, they say, is a cruel mistress. So cruel in fact that Shakespeare, in his own inimitable way, described it as "fortune’s furious fickle wheel". Is destiny really such a capricious force? Can life, to employ another well-used phrase, really turn on a sixpence?

More

Book Review

Matthew Quick’s third adult novel, Love May Fail, is an unorthodox yet life-affirming tale that backs up his success to date. 

More

Book Review

Lily Wilder: wilder by name, wilder by nature. She's the living, breathing proof that the women's sexual revolution is alive and kicking. Which is all well and good except for the fact that she's supposed to be getting married in a week.

More

Pages